Join us on five Fridays between October 14 and November 18, for a special series featuring renowned authors, healers, physicians, priests, and others. Featured speakers include:

  • Rachel Naomi Remen, MD: author of Kitchen Table Wisdom, physician, and co-founder of the Cancer Help Program (October 14)
  • Michael Lerner, PhD: co-founder of Commonweal, the Cancer Help Program, and Healing Circles, author of Choices in Healing: Integrating the Best of Conventional and Complementary Therapies (October 28)
  • Diana Lindsay: co-founder and co-director of Healing Circles Global, author of Something More Than Hope/Something More Than Everything (October 28)
  • Angela Oh, JD: attorney, ordained Zen Buddhist priest, healer across difference, and author of Open: One Woman’s Journey (November 4)
  • Naomi Shihab Nye: poet and author; selected for multiple Pushcart Prizes, a lifetime achievement award by National Book Critics Circle, and by the Poetry foundation as their Young People’s Poet Laureate (November 11)

Bonus event: BJ Miller, MD: co-author of A Beginner’s Guide to the End, hospice and palliative care physician, and co-founder of Mettle Health (November 18)

This series is a fundraiser to support the free circles and trainings that we offer globally. If you are able, please consider a $28 contribution per session or $100 or more for the whole series. You can donate when you register, or you can donate below.

Rachel Naomi Remen

Healing and Purpose in Our Communities

Rachel Naomi Remen, MD

Friday, October 14

10 am Seattle
1 pm New York
6 pm London
7 pm Paris
7 pm Cape Town

Rachel Naomi Remen is the New York Times best-selling author of Kitchen Table Wisdom and other books. A physician, Dr. Remen founded the Institute for the Study of Health and Illness, a training institute for health professionals. She also founded the Healer’s Art, a program offered at more than 90 medical schools in the US and abroad. As co-founder of the Commonweal Cancer Help Program, she and co-founder Michael Lerner were featured on Bill Moyers’ Healing and the Mind in a segment titled Wounded Healers. She joins Oren Slozberg, executive director of Commonweal and co-director of Healing Circles Global, for a conversation about healing, purpose, and medicine.

Diana Lindsay and Michael Lerner

Intentional Healing

Michael Lerner, PhD and Diana Lindsay

Friday, October 28

10 am Seattle
1 pm New York
6 pm London
7 pm Paris
7 pm Cape Town

Join an intimate conversation with Michael Lerner, author of Choices in Healing: Integrating the Best of Conventional and Complementary Therapies, co-founder of Commonweal, the Cancer Help Program, and Healing Circles, and Diana Lindsay, co-founder and co-director of Healing Circles Global, and co-author of Something More Than Hope/Something More Than Everything. Diana and Michael co-founded Healing Circles after realizing how valuable social support can be in increasing people’s quality of life and longevity. More than 15 years after Diana received a terminal cancer diagnosis, she and Michael Lerner will explore the concept of intentional healing.

Angela Oh

Healing Across Difference

Angela Oh, JD

Friday, November 4

10 am Seattle
1 pm New York
5 pm London
6 pm Paris
7 pm Cape Town

Angela Oh is an attorney, community leader, ordained Zen Buddhist priest, and author of Open: One Woman’s Journey. In 1992, Oh gained national prominence as a spokesperson and mediating force for the Asian American community during the Los Angeles riots. She was  appointed by President Clinton as one of seven Advisory Board members to the President’s Initiative on Race, which was charged with engaging the nation in a dialogue on race relations. She is a Commonweal board member and co-creator of the Gift of Compassion Project. She joins Victoria Santos, founder and director of Commonweal’s Center for Healing and Liberation, for a conversation exploring the concept of healing across difference.

Naomi Shihab Nye

Healing Through Poetry

Naomi Shihab Nye

Friday, November 11

10 am Seattle
1 pm New York
6 pm London
7 pm Paris
8 pm Cape Town

Naomi Shihab Nye is a poet and author who has published or contributed to more than 30 volumes of poetry and several novels. She has been selected for numerous awards, including the Ivan Sandrof Award for Lifetime Achievement from the National Book Critics Circle, the Isabella Gardner Poetry Award, and was designated by the Poetry Foundation as their Young People’s Poet Laureate for the 2019–21 term. She joins Jaune Evans, member of the Commonweal board of directors and the Healing Circles Global stewardship council, for a poetry reading and conversation about poetry and healing, including honoring our essential healers during this time.

Bonus event

This event starts at a different time. Register for it separately—even if you are registering for the series.

BJ Miller

Healing and End of Life

BJ Miller, MD

Friday, November 18

9:30 am Seattle
12:30 pm New York
5:30 pm London
6:30 pm Paris
7:30 pm Cape Town

BJ Miller is a hospice and palliative care physician, and the co-author of A Beginner’s Guide to the End. His TED Talk, What Really Matters at the End of Life, has received over 15 million views. Dr. Miller is featured in several programs hosted by The New School, including an interview about his book and one titled Dying and Living in a Plague Year. BJ joins Diana Lindsay, co-director of Healing Circles Global, for an exploration of the wisdom and depth surrounding healing and end of life.